Pencil It In

I’ve been sewing up a storm lately. It’s an activity I enjoy, so there’s not a lot to complain about except one detail – it’s all for other people.

I’m so grateful to have friends who trust me with altering/ fixing a loved garment or to help add decor to their homes, but I was longing to get some me time in.

So this weekend I decided to take a selfish. (If you’re not familiar with that phrase then you’re not watching Schitt’s Creek, and I urge you to remedy that immediately).

Some of you may remember this project I had on the brain. Well, it was time to make it happen.

image

I learned a lot from this project, especially since I added a lining that the pattern didn’t call for, but this was wool and that is itchy on the skin. I needed a barrier.

image

The details came together nicely, although the darts could use a little extra iron love. I was worried about over pressing the material and may have held back, and easy detail to fix.

image

I’m most pleased with my pattern matching, look at those continuous lines!!

imageimage

It feels great to do something for me, especially when the results are this satisfying. I’m fully endorsing taking a selfish, even if it’s just once and a while.

4 thoughts on “Pencil It In

Leave a Reply

