Playing Catch Up

Hey!

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, and as much as I strive to be perfect and never miss a week, this is still a one woman operation and can get away from me. I super encourage you to follow me on instagram and I can at the very least post a heads up there that I don’t have one coming so you’re not left hanging. One day I’ll be able to do this full time and not need other jobs, but until then…

So what keeps me so busy and away from here? Often the feeling that I don’t really have anything interesting to write to you about.

I haven’t had time for any big projects that I felt were worthy of your time, but the reality is that a lot of my sewing projects are simple fixes. So today is a top 5 list of the mini fixes I’m often asked to do for people.

#5 – Zippers. Maybe the stitching is just coming out, maybe the teeth have separated, or the pull is broken. Whatever the reason, I’ve been brought a few items that need the existing zipper removed and a new one put in it’s place. For some garments, this can be quite the endeavor, because it requires taking the structure apart to really get in there, but for others, like this dress, it can be an easy switch-a-roo.

#4 – Patching. You tore a hole in your shirt, or moths got at that sweater you love, a seam ripped in your dress, or the knees have blown out in your favourite jeans. Depending on the exact problem, I have many ways to go about it, but jeans are the most common item that come my way for this. With some creative filler fabric selection, fusible interfacing, and an artful use of the zig-zag stitch, I have brought a few well loved jeans back to life.

image

#3 – Creative Solutions. I wasn’t sure where to put this, because it’s such a miscellaneous one. Lots of times people come to me with a very unique problem that’s beyond a simple alteration. They’re not even sure what they want done themselves, just what they don’t like and hope that I can trouble shoot it for them. The elastic of their bathing suit is too tight it’s hurting their legs, these throw pillows aren’t the exact shape they wanted, this buckle is too bulky can we remove it even though it’s what keeps this dress up? The most recent one was a problem I feel like all my busty friends can relate to. A button front that pulls open over the boobs. So I went through and attached metal snaps on the inside of the button placket as extra insurance against a wardrobe malfunction.

#2- Buttons. In this day and age of disposable fashion (remember to recycle old clothing at textile centers and not throw them in the trash) buttons seem to be haphazardly attached. I’m constantly reattaching buttons onto my coats, sweaters, really anything that has a button. It’s second nature to me, but I get that not everyone sees this as possible. Believe me when I tell you, if you can watch a youtube video you can reattach your buttons, the hardest part is threading the needle. You’ll feel so freakin’ accomplished and it takes NO TIME. This is something you can do while watching tv (and you won’t even get through the opening credits before you’re done).

The most common sewing job I’m called on for?

#1 – Hemming Pants. Nothing feels better than clothes that fit you properly. Garments are all manufactured in stock sizes and we’re not all built the same. You spend all that money on a good pair of pants and then have to roll them up and get that bulky ankle look. A pant that falls perfectly in place is something I appreciate, and again, I take for granted how easy it is to do for myself. It may not seem like a big deal, but I’m telling you, the difference will speak for itself and you’ll look sharper.

So that’s roughly what I do in a week. It’s not always awe inspiring work, but it’s satisfying to me and makes it that much more fun when I get to play with making something more grandiose for myself.

Now go teach yourself how to sew on a button!

 

Leave a Reply

