Solve for Apex

 

I have a decor post this week!!

So for the past little while I’ve been working on a special project for a lovely friend of mine, and I wanted to wait until I had it all ready to show the final product, but going through the photos I’m realizing it’s tooo much for one single post.

So here’s the first installment.

She bought this super cool crib:

67518244776367p__1

I’m very into it, and very grateful she trusts me with making the cover for it.

I clocked right away that I’d have to make the cover in a few parts, and the first and most daunting was making little side curtains for that triangle piece.

I don’t think people realize how much math is involved in sewing, especially decor sewing. Math stresses me out, but I’m a naturally resourceful person and determined to ace this.

I found a handy video of a woman making a curtain for a triangle window that I scaled way down.

image

Then I measured out a template, cut it in half and made strips for pleating. Then I laid out the strips, measuring out my distances for pleats:

IMG_4697

Which left me with a pattern piece:

IMG_4699

After double checking my math, over and over, I cut:

IMG_4700

The amount of measuring and second guessing before I dared to cut the good stuff was agonizing, but as I continued on I felt more and more confident that I had been thorough enough.

Putting in the pleats felt especially satisfying.

IMG_4728

Then I ironed them all out.

IMG_4729

So I had to figure out how to attach this to the crib. I wanted to make sure it was easy to remove, because washing is essential (and OF COURSE I pre-washed this fabric to deal with any shrinking ahead of time).

I didn’t have regular access to the crib bars while sewing, so with the help of a more math inclined friend, I made a cardboard mock up of the crib rail using the measurements I took.

IMG_4703

IMG_4701

This came in handy to figure out how the material would need to wrap around, with a velcro fastener, and the width I would need to make the straps.

So I factored in seam allowances and hemming and made another template/ pattern piece for attaching the top of the curtains.

IMG_4704

So I cut two pieces for each curtain piece (8 total) and attached them on either side. They’ll velcro over the top crib bar.

Because this is on a slant, because thats how triangles work, I fastened the top points of my two curtains. I was concerned that if I just left them unattached they would slide down the bars over time and be useless curtains. I dunno how familiar anyone is with curtains, but useless ones aren’t sought after.

IMG_4731

The next step is the overlay, which was a whole experience on it’s own. Consider this a cliffhanger post. What will happen? Will the crib have a tent? Will the cover be just as cute? Will the baby approve?….

OMG! WILL THE BABY APPROVE????

Leave a Reply

